By Melvin McElrath, Junior, Biomedical Engineering.

Born and raised in the city of Milwaukee and as a graduate with honors from Messmer High School, I was well aware of the quality education at Marquette.  And when the time came to choose a school, in addition to considering those with a quality curriculum, I looked at institutions that also provided students with significant scholarship support.  That was critical in my selection of Marquette, where I was named an Urban Scholar, which is awarded each year to outstanding students who excel academically and demonstrate leadership in the community.  I received this award as a proud member of the Mary Ryan Boys & Girls Club.  Receiving a scholarship to attend Marquette was vital and has allowed me to be a part of the Marquette tradition.

Throughout my three years at Marquette and the College of Engineering, I’ve had tremendous opportunities. Receiving an internship my freshman year at C.G. Schmidt and Marquette’s access to opportunities like these has set me apart from my counterparts at other schools. 

Serving as president of the best student organization on campus, the Marquette Chapter of the National Society of Black Engineers, has helped me build my teamwork and leadership skills. It is the sum of each individual experience that makes my Marquette education what it is today, and most importantly, it makes me who I am.

Following graduation, I plan to attend graduate school and then work then in the private sector, potentially in nanotechnology or rehabilitation robotics. 

Looking back, I’m grateful to receive scholarship support to be given the opportunity to attend Marquette, especially the College of Engineering.  And I’m grateful to know that once I graduate I will not be burdened with significant debt, something that I know not all students can say.  I’m in a very fortunate position and grateful to benefactors who help to make my Marquette education and experience possible.  And, when I have children, I can look forward to sending them to Marquette as legacies where I know they will benefit from the same quality education I am receiving today.

